Legend of Kyrandia enhanced audio

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Cyphox
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Germany

Legend of Kyrandia enhanced audio

Post by Cyphox »

Edit by md5: The original question was about Monkey island, but I decided to rename the title of the thread, as the rest of the thread is about Legend of Kyrandia

------------------------------------

Hi,

on http://soundtracks.mixnmojo.com/ some soundtracks from LucasArts Games are available for download. I don`t think that LucasArts is against it, for example he (the guy who`s hosing the site) isn`t allowed to host the kotor soundtracks anymore, but the others are still online.

Of course there`s the soundtrack (better quality than mt-32) for mi2, too.

Now the question:
As we all know, Mr. glidem made some wonderful tracks for simon, which are perfectly supported with the actual stable version of scummvm. Would it be possible to "integrate" the mi2 soundtrack in mi2 as well? *eyeingthescummdevelopers*

That would be... *rrrrrr* :shock: 8)

*beg*

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

nope, not possible

MI2 and games afterwards use iMuse - a special sound system which allows to dynamically alter the songs played (turning on and off instruments, etc) - this is impossible to be replicated with "static" mp3 files

the inclusion of this feature is suggested about twice a year - sadly it's not possible

edit:

see also
viewtopic.php?t=1471&highlight=imuse+monkey+island
viewtopic.php?t=972&highlight=imuse+monkey+island

Cyphox
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Cyphox »

Okay, thx for info :)

User avatar
KainXVIII
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Russia

Post by KainXVIII »

And what about Legend of Kyrandia ? It has wonderful soundtrack on this site http://www.smc.sq7.org/lok1cd/
:
This single soundtrack CD features the original "Legend of Kyrandia 1- Fables and Fiends" Roland MT-32 soundtrack, with Roland Sound Canvas SC-55mkII, Roland SC-8850 ED and Yamaha MU100R XG enhancements (primarily, the MT-32 and SC-8850 mixed together)! *

Can it be possible?

User avatar
Raziel
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 1164
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:27 am
Location: a dying planet

Post by Raziel »

KainXVIII wrote:And what about Legend of Kyrandia ? It has wonderful soundtrack on this site http://www.smc.sq7.org/lok1cd/
:
This single soundtrack CD features the original "Legend of Kyrandia 1- Fables and Fiends" Roland MT-32 soundtrack, with Roland Sound Canvas SC-55mkII, Roland SC-8850 ED and Yamaha MU100R XG enhancements (primarily, the MT-32 and SC-8850 mixed together)! *

Can it be possible?
Oh my, that sounds awesome... :-o

User avatar
id1402
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:29 am

Post by id1402 »

Is it possible to use the soundtrack from http://www.smc.sq7.org/lok1cd/ in Legend of Kyrandia 1 or not?

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto »

Apart from missing support in the source for that, there should be no reason why it doesn't work :-).

User avatar
KainXVIII
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Russia

Post by KainXVIII »

LordHoto wrote:Apart from missing support in the source for that, there should be no reason why it doesn't work :-).
that`s means no ? :roll:

User avatar
id1402
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:29 am

Post by id1402 »

Originally posted by KainXVIII
that`s means no ?
That means NO!
It is theoretically possible to integrate the soundtrack into Legend of Kyrandia, but someome would have to modify the source code. That needs a person who has much time and skill. It should be much easier and of bigger priority to obtain the source code of Discworld.

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

agreed.

Pix2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:02 pm
Contact:

Post by Pix2 »

I'd really like to have decent music for Kyrandia on my PSP and I fancied playing around with the SCUMMVM code a bit so I've had a go at hacking in a digital soundtrack this morning. My C++ isn't too great as I'm more used to Java but I've managed to make some progress and its playing the correct tracks for most of the start of the game.

I'm not too keen on the remixed soundtrack so I've made recordings from an MT32 instead. If you want to try it out get the recordings from :-

http://pix.www.idnet.com/lokoggs.rar

The new scummvm windows exe is at:-

http://pix.www.idnet.com/scummvm.rar

Copy the new scummvm.exe over your old one (back it up first), and copy all the oggs into your Kyrandia folder.

Make sure your audio is set to windows midi. Bear in mind, right now I've only attempted to map in the music for the early part of the game and its barely tested. The music will not loop either.

I will probably change my mind but at the moment I don't think it would be that huge a job to get this working properly so if theres any interest I'll keep going on it when I get the chance.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

Pix2 wrote:I'd really like to have decent music for Kyrandia on my PSP and I fancied playing around with the SCUMMVM code a bit so I've had a go at hacking in a digital soundtrack this morning. My C++ isn't too great as I'm more used to Java but I've managed to make some progress and its playing the correct tracks for most of the start of the game.

I'm not too keen on the remixed soundtrack so I've made recordings from an MT32 instead. If you want to try it out get the recordings from :-

http://pix.www.idnet.com/lokoggs.rar

The new scummvm windows exe is at:-

http://pix.www.idnet.com/scummvm.rar

Copy the new scummvm.exe over your old one (back it up first), and copy all the oggs into your Kyrandia folder.

Make sure your audio is set to windows midi. Bear in mind, right now I've only attempted to map in the music for the early part of the game and its barely tested. The music will not loop either.

I will probably change my mind but at the moment I don't think it would be that huge a job to get this working properly so if theres any interest I'll keep going on it when I get the chance.
Nice work, can you please include the source code changes you made as well?

Pix2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:02 pm
Contact:

Post by Pix2 »

The changed source is at:-

http://pix.www.idnet.com/kyrasource.rar

Its still a hack but I've spent some more time on it and its pretty much fully working now. It works with adlib as well as midi, the tracks now loop appropriately and they are pretty much all mapped in with just a few of the smaller ones missing. Also, it will now fall back to adlib/midi if the digital audio is unavailable for any reason.

User avatar
KainXVIII
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Russia

Post by KainXVIII »

yay!
PS - http://www.smc.sq7.org/lok1cd/ that OST will work with your`s build of scummvm ?

Pix2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:02 pm
Contact:

Post by Pix2 »

Theres no reason why it can't be made to work - the new code just looks for audio files named lok1, lok2, etc. and will play whatever it finds. Due to lazyness on my part, the oggs need to be named .vog instead of .ogg at the moment.

The filenames would have to be matched up so each tune has the correct number which is easy enough. However, the soundtrack cd has joined some of them together. e.g. the intro is now one track as opposed to four. Someone would have to split all of these up again. Also, the enhanced soundtracks have sound effects left in which should be played separately, things like the spell sound at the start of the wisp music. Where possible these need removing.

An hour or so with an audio editor and I could get it all working reasonably but there will be sound effects left in which will no doubt end up in the wrong places in game. Ideally, we would need the guy who made them to do new versions of some of the tracks.

I might have a go at it when I get in tonight and see how it works out - I should really get permission before I put anything up for download though.

Post Reply