Lost in Time

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
exofreeze
Banned
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:06 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by exofreeze » Sun Aug 26, 2007 1:01 am

just bought a copy of the game off amazon new in the box, still shrink wrapped for $5.69 after shipping.

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari » Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:36 am

Now onto "Lost in Time 0: Fascination" :p

lowjob
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Post by lowjob » Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:24 am

Hello

I just tried getting my CD version of Lost in Time to run under scummvm v0.10.0. It simply will not run.

I get this message when adding it to scummvm:

Your game version appears to be unknown. Please, report the data to the ScummVM team along with name of the game you tr
and its version/language/etc.:
"intro.stk", "6263d09e996c1b4e84ef2d650b820e57", 4831170

The game is (ofcourse) Lost in Time. It is a SierraOriginals CD purchased in New Zealand (so its an English version). If I remember I used to run it on Windows 95. I think I purchased it around 1996. In the root of the CD there is a file called VERSION which contains the following:

1.000ORG
11.06.93
LOST IN TIME

There was also some more info in the file INSTALL.INF (also in the root dir of the CD):

(c)Copyright M.D.O., 1992 : (p)Philippe Lamarque
LOST IN TIME v 1.00¨©)KJj,

I copied these files from the CD:

*.stk
*.itk
*.ltk
lost.lic

and I ripped the audio track to: Track1.mp3 (128 kBits/s, 44,100 Hz, Stereo - encoded with Fraunhofer IIS MPEG Layer-3 Codec Professional with Highest Quality bit set)

I've tried all different options from the scummvm interface, disabling sound, changing music drivers, different graphic configs etc. still no go.

Don't know if this was the right place to post this (or perhaps the junk yard?).

Any suggestions?

Jason

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3315
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:10 pm

lowjob wrote: I just tried getting my CD version of Lost in Time to run under scummvm v0.10.0. It simply will not run.
That's to be expected. Lost in Time is not supported in ScummVM 0.10, so you'll need the development version. Actually, I don't think it's officially supported by the development version either. It just happens to be quite playable there.

lowjob
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Post by lowjob » Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:14 pm

eriktorbjorn wrote:
lowjob wrote: I just tried getting my CD version of Lost in Time to run under scummvm v0.10.0. It simply will not run.
That's to be expected. Lost in Time is not supported in ScummVM 0.10, so you'll need the development version.
Thank you. I downloaded the latest subversion build 0.11.0svn (Sep 5 2007 10:51:10), and yes... very playable. I forgot how addictive that game was! I had to scale graphics up 2x and it complained about a couple of missing .STK files, but if I wasn't careful... I could've been hooked on this game for hours!

Thanks again, Jason

User avatar
DrMcCoy
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Contact:

Post by DrMcCoy » Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:31 pm

lowjob wrote:it complained about a couple of missing .STK files
Apparently, that's "normal". The game scripts check which files you have.
lowjob wrote:very playable
There's still a major problem with the "cut scenes" in the CD version and videos in the background (like the horse) make the mouse cursor blink.

User avatar
Sordid
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 6:12 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Sordid » Wed Sep 05, 2007 2:24 pm

I completed LiT CD...graphical glitches in cutscenes as McCoy mentioned...

User avatar
kosuan
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: germany

Post by kosuan » Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:51 pm

... i just landet on the island :) ...
ko.

Post Reply