Feeble Files video in beta version problems?

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Feeble Files video in beta version problems?

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

Hello,

i have a problem. I want to try to play the feeble files with the new scummvm programm. so i add the game. the start screen appears. But then when i want to start an new game he says he cannot find winasoft.dxa. but the file is includet in the folder.

Is that a bug, or have i to encode the videos again with encode_dxa?

Then the other problem.

when i run the Convert_dxa script i get only this messages:

Setting environment variables...
Processing "E:\smk\agent32.smk"...
Width = 640, Height = 480, Framerate = -10000, Frames = 734
Encoding video...read_png_file: Can't open file: agent32000.png
Deleting temp files
E:\smk\agent32.smk
Processing "E:\smk\Airlock.smk"...
Width = 640, Height = 480, Framerate = -10000, Frames = 544
Encoding video...read_png_file: Can't open file: Airlock000.png
Deleting temp files
E:\smk\Airlock.smk
Processing "E:\smk\Allcreds.smk"...

He cannot find the png files, i only choose the pathes in the convert_dxa.bat file as you said.

Whats going wrong?

But the png files are in the directory i have found them.

Regards

Sebastian
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

Whats going on with this script? i have heard from other people too, that it doesnt works perfectly.

Is there an alternative script that i can use instead of that?

I tryed the whole afternoon to find the error in the script, but if i correct one error i get more and more problems.

can anybody please answer?
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

Which OS are you using?
What file system are you using (NTFS/FAT32)? FAT32 has problems when many files are in a folder
Have you downloaded the required files?
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

Hello i am not so good in english, therefore i have make a video with camtasia, you can watch it at:

http://www.sebby44.de/Encoding/Encoding.html

I made all as it says the documentation.

But you will see the errors

this video was made with the original script includet in the newest scummvm SVN.

as you can see i have set the pathes. in smk there are the smk files.

aber encoding, the file agent32 (as you can see in the video) is missing. I dont know where it is.

I find it curious because the file could not be deleted. i take a look in the dxa file folder and there it is.

How now!

i dont know where is the error in the script. as you can see the png files and the wav file is available in the directory.
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

The encode_dxa.exe tool has been changed in the SVN repository so that it doesn't need the .smk extention. You are probably using the ScummVM tools from version 0.9.1. Either download the latest SVN version of ScummVM, or to fix the errors you're getting with the 0.9.1 version of encode_dxa.exe, open file "convert_dxa_one.bat" and change line 22 from:

Code: Select all

"%TOOLS_PATH%\encode_dxa.exe" --vorbis "%~n1.smk"
to:

Code: Select all

"%TOOLS_PATH%\encode_dxa.exe" --vorbis "%~n1"
As I said though, it'd be more preferable if you just downloaded the latest SVN version of ScummVM
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

ok i downloaedet the acutall programm with the actual bat files and tools.

but when i run it now it says he cannot find the File Airlock but the file is in the directory.

Whats going wrong?

ok i am going to make a little test. i will put only one file in the smk directory and i will list the files of the directory before and after the error
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

Ok here is it:

C:\Programme\ScummVM2\tools>rem $Id: convert_dxa.bat 24859 2006-12-16 05:28:01Z
sev $
Setting environment variables...
Processing "G:\smk1\Start1.smk"...

Directory Listening before converting

Smacker-Path:
Start1.smk

DXA-Path:
is empty

--Decoding of smk file to png and wav--

Directory Listing after Smacker
Smacker-path:
Start1.smk
Start1.wav
Start100.png
Start101.png
Start102.png
Start103.png
Start104.png
Start105.png
Start106.png
Start107.png
Start108.png
Start109.png
Start110.png
Start111.png
Start112.png
Start113.png
Start114.png
Start115.png
Start116.png
Start117.png
Start118.png
Start119.png
Start120.png
dxa-path:
is empty

readVideoInfo: Can't open file: Start1
Deleting temp files
G:\smk1\Start1.smk

Directory Listing after Converting

Smacker-path:
is empty

dxa-path:
Start1.smk

Drücken Sie eine beliebige Taste . . .
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

As you can see have i made all as you said. But it dont works

he doesnt find the smacker file and the png files.

Is here an developer which can me please explain whats going wrong?

regards

sebastian
FeebleFiles1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:02 pm

Post by FeebleFiles1 »

Why nobody answers.

this problem i on 2 other computers also available, because there is an error in the script.

why nobody writes me an answer?
fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

Maybe you forgot to pay your "Support subscription" fee, and so nobody is willing to help you yet?

Or maybe everybody hates you personally?

Or maybe nobody knows a solution to your problem?

Life is hard and cruel, I am afraid....
User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

FeebleFiles1 wrote:Why nobody answers.

this problem i on 2 other computers also available, because there is an error in the script.

why nobody writes me an answer?
Since I'm not a Windows user, I don't know the answer to your questions. If there's a bug in the scripts, perhaps filing a bug report has a better chance of reaching someone who does know how to fix it?
User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev »

FeebleFiles1 wrote:Why nobody answers.

this problem i on 2 other computers also available, because there is an error in the script.

why nobody writes me an answer?
Perhaps because it is a bug and all bugreports get discussed.... you know where.


Eugene

PS. I wrote that script, and I'll gladly help you, but at appropriate place, not in the forums.
Post Reply