Format glitch on the homepage

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
LogicDeLuxe
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:54 pm

Format glitch on the homepage

Post by LogicDeLuxe » Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:20 pm

Sometimes, the "What Is ScummVM?"-box has just the width of its header, and there's a large gap between it and the menu bar at the right.
I'm using Windows 2000 and Mozilla Firefox.

User avatar
frank_m24
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Post by frank_m24 » Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:35 pm

Hello,

I can confirm this, but I thought, it was a special problem of my setup ...

:oops:

best Regards

Frank

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem » Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:01 pm

according to #scummvm, this is a bug in Mozilla Firefox, apparently it's fixed in yesterday's 1.5 release - never happens here anymore

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 1975
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev » Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:51 pm

I.e. there is a bug in computation of nested tables. That fact that it is a really browser bug is seen from nature of "fixing" it, i.e. reloading does the trick.


Eugene

fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1466
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin » Sun Dec 04, 2005 12:59 pm

However, in the end, the problem is triggered by our use of nested tables for layout purposes...

Of course this has practical & compatibility reasons. But maybe over time we can move to a more CSS based layout and thus avoid the problem altogether. Of course this'll pose the new problem of staying compatible with older IE versions etc. :-)

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 1975
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev » Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:21 pm

fingolfin wrote:more CSS based layout and thus avoid the problem altogether. Of course this'll pose the new problem of staying compatible with older IE versions etc. :-)
Oh, yes. Proper CSS approach was taken first, but then, because of "MSIE semi-browser" we had no choice but use tables.


Eugene

trin
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by trin » Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:41 pm

Still happens with Firefox 1.5. *sigh* thought they fixed it.

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 1975
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev » Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:32 pm

Now they have a "report broken Web site..." item in help menu. So more people report it, more chances that they will fix it sooner.


Eugene

Post Reply