Anti-Aliasing for Protagonists

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

KevinW

Anti-Aliasing for Protagonists

Post by KevinW »

Hey there,

here's another crazy idea for a feature that I think could enhance the graphics of the old games. Not being a coder myself, I don't know if it's possible.

Would it make any sense to add an anti-alias option for the drawing of the actors in the supported Games? I think it was already done this way by Broken Sword 2 in the original engine, or am I wrong?

All the best,
Kevin
joachimeberhard
ScummVM Team Member

Re: Anti-Aliasing for Protagonists

Post by joachimeberhard »

KevinW wrote:Hey there,

here's another crazy idea for a feature that I think could enhance the graphics of the old games. Not being a coder myself, I don't know if it's possible.

Would it make any sense to add an anti-alias option for the drawing of the actors in the supported Games? I think it was already done this way by Broken Sword 2 in the original engine, or am I wrong?

All the best,
Kevin
Try any of the high quality scalers under Graphics mode. :D
OmerMor
Got a warning

Post by OmerMor »

Kevin, I think what Joachim suggested was different.
The scalers are "dumb" enhancers, in the sense that they act on each picture frame as a non-distinctive array of pixels.
His suggestion (as I understand it) is to use anti-aliasing techniques on the actor themsleves, which could distinguish them from the background image, and enhance their look.
I personally think it has great potential. I hope someone will pick up that glove.
Omer Mor.
sev
ScummVM Lead

Post by sev »

THere will be 2 things: either sprite borders will be jagged or alpha blending should be implemented. Not to say that I'm not aware about any real time scaler which takes alpha channel in account, but may be that's just me. In any case code complexity will be quite high. Kevin, did you try to do it by hand and see if result is really nice.

Eugene