ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > General Discussion > Sierra games don't allow speech and text at the same time. Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Sierra games don't allow speech and text at the same time.
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

Update: SCI1.1 SCI CD games now sync their sound settings with the ones in ScummVM. This means that for the following SCI1.1 CD games:
- Freddy Pharkas
- Space Quest 4
- Laura Bow 2
- King's Quest 6

You can set speech/subtitles from the ScummVM audio options menu. You can also set simultaneous speech and subtitles for Freddy Pharkas and Space Quest 4. The speech + subtitles setting is also available in-game in SQ4, but not in Pharkas (there is no appropriate button to use, unless the text speed slider is repurposed for this).

I'm also working on patching LB2CD and KQ6CD to allow simultaneous speech and subtitles, but they have checks in a lot of places, which will have to be rewritten

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:09 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
BobbinT



Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 76
 

thx man! can't wait to see this happen. Very Happy

Btw, can you confirm svn version for this update?

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:30 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

55005 and 55006

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:44 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
BobbinT



Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 76
 

is it already released? I didn't see it here:

http://buildbot.scummvm.org/snapshots/trunk/

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:23 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
dhwz



Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 2
 

quote:
Originally posted by md5
Update: SCI1.1 SCI CD games now sync their sound settings with the ones in ScummVM. This means that for the following SCI1.1 CD games:
- Freddy Pharkas
- Space Quest 4
- Laura Bow 2
- King's Quest 6

You can set speech/subtitles from the ScummVM audio options menu. You can also set simultaneous speech and subtitles for Freddy Pharkas and Space Quest 4. The speech + subtitles setting is also available in-game in SQ4, but not in Pharkas (there is no appropriate button to use, unless the text speed slider is repurposed for this).

I'm also working on patching LB2CD and KQ6CD to allow simultaneous speech and subtitles, but they have checks in a lot of places, which will have to be rewritten


But switching in-game is still not possible right?
I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".
 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:12 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by dhwz
quote:
Originally posted by md5
Update: SCI1.1 SCI CD games now sync their sound settings with the ones in ScummVM. This means that for the following SCI1.1 CD games:
- Freddy Pharkas
- Space Quest 4
- Laura Bow 2
- King's Quest 6

You can set speech/subtitles from the ScummVM audio options menu. You can also set simultaneous speech and subtitles for Freddy Pharkas and Space Quest 4. The speech + subtitles setting is also available in-game in SQ4, but not in Pharkas (there is no appropriate button to use, unless the text speed slider is repurposed for this).

I'm also working on patching LB2CD and KQ6CD to allow simultaneous speech and subtitles, but they have checks in a lot of places, which will have to be rewritten


But switching in-game is still not possible right?
I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".


That's odd, I don't get this. What did you do and got this message?
 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:18 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Collector



Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 535
 

quote:
Originally posted by dhwz
I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".

You get that error message if the "KQ6CD" file is missing from the game's folder.
 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:24 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dhwz



Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 2
 

quote:
Originally posted by Collector
quote:
Originally posted by dhwz
I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".

You get that error message if the "KQ6CD" file is missing from the game's folder.


Ah ok, I'll copy that from my CD and try again.

Ok, that was the problem. Thanks Smile
 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Angelus3K



Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 73
 

Am I missing something? I'm using iPad port but cannot seem to get Speech and Subtitles in KQ6CD or KQ5 working. Not sure if KQ5 is supported yet. Any ideas?

P.S. I have Both enabled in global settings and SQ4 Talkie does work with both.

 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:04 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
MusicallyInspired



Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 961
Location: Manitoba, Canada
 

There is no toggle for KQ5. The floppy versions only support text and the CD version only supports speech (no text at all). I don't even think the text resources are included in the CD version...

This should also probably be in the iPad port subforum.

 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
hitmarty



Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 1
 

it's working now for Larry 6 great work! when can we expect Laura Bow?

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:37 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 118
 

Hi!
Any progress in KQ6?

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:41 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
fischkopf



Joined: 22 Mar 2009
Posts: 91
Location: germany
 

The german version of PQ4 has a text+speech option. You could take that script and apply it to the english version, just sayin' Smile

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:45 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
Hi!
Any progress in KQ6?


No, not yet
 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:54 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by fischkopf
The german version of PQ4 has a text+speech option. You could take that script and apply it to the english version, just sayin' Smile


No, that is completely different
 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:54 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge