Sierra games don't allow speech and text at the same time.

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Serious Callers Only
Got a warning

Sierra games don't allow speech and text at the same time.

Post by Serious Callers Only »

Is this going to be altered, considering that the sierra options screen is much more a part of the game than lucasarts and that it's setable there, yet there isn't a text+speech option?

I've noticed that in some lucasarts games that the scummvm option screen replaced the original, is this the plan with the Sierra games too?
nathanel.mori

Post by nathanel.mori »

I am so anxiously eager to know the response for this question (and have been fantasizing about a positive one for years) that I find it insulting that no one with the proper authority has come up with a reply already.

And just so you'd understand how eager I am for a positive reply - I have been visiting this site for 6 years now, and THIS is the post that finally made me register!
m_kiewitz
ScummVM Developer

Re: Sierra games don't allow speech and text at the same tim

Post by m_kiewitz »

Serious Callers Only wrote:Is this going to be altered, considering that the sierra options screen is much more a part of the game than lucasarts and that it's setable there, yet there isn't a text+speech option?

I've noticed that in some lucasarts games that the scummvm option screen replaced the original, is this the plan with the Sierra games too?
the scripts control this completely. It's not impossible but would need separate work for all talkie games. Currently it's not planned.
nathanel.mori

Post by nathanel.mori »

Why isn't it planned? Were you referring to the save/load screens or to the speech+subtitles option?

I find the benefit in supporting speech+subs to be invaluable to many users. How much work would it take to support speech+subs for each game?
Serious Callers Only
Got a warning

Post by Serious Callers Only »