can anyone help me out please?

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Android port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Callam

can anyone help me out please?

Post by Callam »

hey,
ive only just found out about this whole thing so im a complete noob.
could anyone please try explain how i could get discworld 1 on to my phone, maybe some links to where i need to get the files and everything.
also is it recommended to try this with out any knowledge on it at all?
ive got a HTC desire with the latest android version

thank you in advance for any replies or advice
keenan1986

Post by keenan1986 »

It's nothing complicated.
First, go to this webpage.
There are 4 versions.
Since your HTC Desire has no camera button, i recommend the alt-tremor version (or alt-vorbis, i personally didn't try it yet).
Then download scummvm.zip, and extract it in the ROOT of your memory card so that you have folder "scummvm" and it's contents in it.
.apk file can be put anywhere since it's package file used just to install application.
Also, copy all the game files in one folder on memory card, "discworld" for instance. :)
Now, you need a file manager installend on the phone to navigate to .apk file and install application. I recommend Astro, search it in Market.
Open file manager, navigate to .apk file and you just open that file with package installer (or how it's called?). Click "Install" to install the application. If application cannot be installed then you do not have enough memory on your phone, remove some of the other applications. ScummVM requires some 30 MB to install.
After install, open ScummVM, click add game and select folder on memory card with discworld game files and you're done.
I hope i was clear enough for you to understand this. :D
Enjoy your game on HTC Desire.
Callam

Post by Callam »

Wow thank you very much, that's exactly what I was looking for. Cheers :D
Irish

Post by Irish »

Worked for me too, thanks a lot.