problem with monkey island 3

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's PSP (PlayStation Portable) port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

marulio

problem with monkey island 3

Post by marulio »

Hello!
First sorry because I'm a newbie and not a really good english speaker.
Anyway, I have some problems to install monkey island 3 in my psp.
I search quite a long time without success so I'm trying to find some help here.
In fact I read some tutorials and they are speaking about: compress_san.exe and compress_scumm_bun.exe
They explain that I should recuper it with scummVM Q+E. I have this program but it's not working! I saw in http://quick.mixnmojo.com/software that:
This program has been discontinued. Use the inbuild ScummVM GUI instead.
But I can't find this ScummVM GUI...
Help me please!
batanen

Post by batanen »

Hi!

Sorry, I cannot help you with this. For me, Monkey Island 3 worked after moving all the files to memory stick and choosing the game. However, the game isn't perfectly playable yet (at least not in 1.0.0). Speeding-up memory stick did help a little, but the game still crashed too often. For example:

The worst was that when saving the game, it was a very high risk the game to crash and corrupt the save file at the same time. After losing the latest save file, I stopped playing the game. I was using PHAT 5.00m33-6. The memory stick was a fake 4GB (or a legit 2GB, not sure) so that might have been partially the problem. So, if you happen to get the game running, always save to a separate file.
Bluddy
ScummVM Developer

Post by Bluddy »

Hey batanen

I have a question: when you got this error screen, did you play another game before and then return to the launcher (using the right trigger and start) and then start MI3 or did you just start up ScummVM and choose monkey island 3 right away?