ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > General Discussion > Change MT-32 Samplerate?
Change MT-32 Samplerate?
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
noize



Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 113
Change MT-32 Samplerate? 

Is it possible to change the samplerate for mt-32 in like 22050?
I know in dosbox it is possible, and it save a lot cpu power.
If I remember correctly it was possible one time in Scummvm, but I don't remember how.

It is certainly a variable which can be set, as well as the tuning.

Thanks!

 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:33 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
LogicDeLuxe



Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 390
Re: Change MT-32 Samplerate? 

quote:
Originally posted by noize
Is it possible to change the samplerate for mt-32 in like 22050?
I know in dosbox it is possible, and it save a lot cpu power.
If I remember correctly it was possible one time in Scummvm, but I don't remember how.
In the readme.txt:
--output-rate=RATE Select output sample rate in Hz (e.g. 22050)
Apparently, there are no separate rate settings for different things like it is the case in DOSBox.
Btw., isn't 22050 ScummVM's defualt rate anyway?

MT-32 should be best emulated at 32000 Hz, since it's the native rate for most (maybe all) Roland devices.
 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:52 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
noize



Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 113
 

Thanks for your help.

I already tried setting the standard output_rate for scummvm, but that doesn't do anything for munt
If I remember correctly, I used a seperate keyword in the scummvm.ini,
like mt32_samplerate or something.

Yes 32000 is best, and it slows my (old) system down bigtime too.

Right now ScummVM creates Waveformcache-32000-440.00.raw.
When ScummVM would use 22 khz it would be Waveformcache-22050-440.00.raw.

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:44 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
wonst719
ScummVM Porter


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Seoul, South Korea
Re: Change MT-32 Samplerate? 

Unfortunately, MT-32 emulator now uses fixed output rate at 32000 hz.
Due to bugs which present in the emulator, it produces inaccurate sound other than 32000 hz.
So... It's impossible to change MT-32 output rate without editing sourcecode.

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:48 am 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 



Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge