ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > Nintendo DS Port > Lands of Lore on the DS? Goto page 1, 2  Next
Lands of Lore on the DS?
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
Mr_Figlio



Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Lands of Lore on the DS? 

It might be a dumb question, but would this game ever work on ScummDS? Or just a regular port like what was done with QuakeDS? I still have the original on CD(with voice) AND diskette(without voice) and I think it would be an amazing game on the DS. Perfect interface to use with the stylus I think.

-Figlio

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:27 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
clem



Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 2185
Re: Lands of Lore on the DS? 

quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Figlio
It might be a dumb question, but would this game ever work on ScummDS? Or just a regular port like what was done with QuakeDS? I still have the original on CD(with voice) AND diskette(without voice) and I think it would be an amazing game on the DS. Perfect interface to use with the stylus I think.


Only the sourcecode is missing to have it ported Very Happy (i.e. Quake ports are based upon opened source code; chances to get original source for Lands of Lore are next to zero)

ScummVM plays the intro of LoL, but not more (and it doesn't look like that'll change for the time being). Not sure if the DS version does that too (would be they same build which plays the Kyrandia games)
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:40 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Figlio



Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
 

Very often on the PC only the intro would play as well (older Windows issues I think). Maybe that would have something to do with it, I dont know. I tried it on the DS but it wouldn't recognize that there was a game in the folder. It did that for a few other games that should be working on the DS version but I'm probably not doing it right. Maybe I'm using the wrong build. I'll try some other ways and see. If anyone else wants to give it a try let me know!!

Dosbox for the DS would be a solution if it could be done.

-Figlio

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:57 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
clem



Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 2185
 

quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Figlio
Very often on the PC only the intro would play as well (older Windows issues I think). Maybe that would have something to do with it, I dont know.


No; ScummVM simply doesn't know what to do with the game. The intro works because there are similarities to the Kyrandia games, but the main game engine is different.

quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Figlio
Dosbox for the DS would be a solution if it could be done.

Dosbox is not feasible on the DS (not enough CPU power, RAM), there have been numerous posts on this forum about it already.
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:49 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Figlio



Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
 

I know Dosbox isn't possible, I only meant it would be nice if it could be done, but it can't, so anyways.

I've been doing a bit of research into finding the source code. The game has become abandonware I think, since Westwood Studios no longer exists. Who would know about these things? EA bought Westwood so maybe they might know about the source? At any rate, how long does the copywrite last? 20 years I think. 3 more years isnt that long...[/i][/u]

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:28 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Figlio
I've been doing a bit of research into finding the source code. The game has become abandonware I think, since Westwood Studios no longer exists. Who would know about these things? EA bought Westwood so maybe they might know about the source? At any rate, how long does the copywrite last? 20 years I think. 3 more years isnt that long...[/i][/u]


95 years, still a long way to go:
http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Copyright_FAQ
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:38 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
clem



Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 2185
 

Also Westwood Studios didn't just disappear into a puff of nothing. EA owns all the assets (just like with the Kyrandia games), as you pointed out yourself. Abandonware is not a proper concept (some day I might change my forum signature into that, sigh) No they won't let anyone look at the source (ScummVM team tried when kyra engine was WIP, no chance)

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:32 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
warpdesign



Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 16
 

Latest SVN (as of april 2009) plays LOL, not only the introduction Smile Support for LOL is coming !

Very few things are now missing to make it playable Smile

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
MajinChibi



Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Berlin, Germany
 



Very Happy (only a fake!!)


Last edited by MajinChibi on Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:05 pm; edited 1 time in total

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:41 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by MajinChibi


Very Happy


Hm? Where is this picture taken from? Looks like some quick Photoshop work Smile
 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:48 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Red_Breast



Joined: 30 Sep 2008
Posts: 785
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.
 

Only having played with DS homebrew for about 9 months I don't know about all the homebrew avaliable for it but I've never heard of an app to take screen dumps.

 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:47 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Figlio



Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Lands on the DS build or regular build? 

Does this mean that Lands of Lore works somewhat? Would that be the DS build or the regular one?

 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:26 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mr_Figlio



Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
 

ScummVM for DS ver. 13.1 doesn't run Lands. Build F pauses when I try to add the game but still no dice. Why give false hope like that? Any clarification would be nice

 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:29 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
warpdesign



Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 16
 

Latest Windows SVN build plays LOL.

Support for LOL is disabled in official builds.

As for the screenshot, having both the scene, and the inventory at the same time would require quite some work to the engine (and especially for the DS version). If it works, it will work on one screen first...

 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2256
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by Red_Breast
Only having played with DS homebrew for about 9 months I don't know about all the homebrew avaliable for it but I've never heard of an app to take screen dumps.


I didn't say he took the screenshot from the DS Wink . Read warpdesign's answer, that's the reason I said it's a photoshop job Smile
 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:03 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 
Goto page 1, 2  Next


Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge