Monkey Island Help

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Tipsey Tyke

Monkey Island Help

Post by Tipsey Tyke »

Hi guys, I'm a newbie when it comes to computers and could really use some help if possible.

I have bought Monkey Island 1&2 (The White Label Double Pack) on Ebay. I paid a bit more than I should have but I have such great memories that I decided that it would be worth it.

Imagine my horror when it arrived and i put the disc in and I got a message stating that it wont work in full screen mode. I have tried allsorts but it just wont do it. I have tried loading it up anyway just to see and it wont really go further than a start-up screen.

As I say, I'm really not very computer literate so if I tell you step by step what happens perhaps there might be a star amongst you who can help.

I load the disc and click Run monkey.pif
Immediately a box appears (with the title 16bit MS-DOS Subsystem) stating that the system does not support fullscreen mode and to choose "close" to terminate the application.

I click ignore.

This takes me to the screen offering monkey 1 or 2 or also make a boot disc. If I try choosing one of the games it again brings a warning box stating that it wont play full screen. I can't get any further!!!

I have a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop (XP home basic). I contacted the guy I bought it from and he said that he has the same laptop and it worked fine for him.

I'm sorry to post such a long message but I really really wanna play monkey again and don't want to have to sell it.

Do I need to install something on my laptop maybe?

Any help (in plain English if poss) would be really appreciated.

Thanks
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer

Post by eriktorbjorn »