SCUMMVM for dummies?

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Dreamcast port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Toad64

SCUMMVM for dummies?

Post by Toad64 »

Hello there. I'd like to know if someone could give me a clear, step-by-step example of how to get SCUMMVM working on my Dreamcast. I'm hardly computer illiterate, though I am new to the Dreamcast scene, but I've been having a lot of trouble finding out exactly what to do. What files I need exactly, and what to do with them when I get them.

I have DiscJuggler, BootDreams, SBI Builder. Is there anyone that can simply tell me what to grab, from where, and what to do with it to burn it?

Thanks in advance for any help on the matter,
Toad64
Dark-Star

Post by Dark-Star »

There's a finished CDI image available somewhere (look in this forum for a link).
Simply burn this to a CD using DiscJuggler (important! other programs might not work) and boot up your DC with it. After it has loaded, swap the CD for one with a supported game on it. That's all.

I don't know if it's possible to create a custom boot CD with some adventures copied to it, so that the CD swapping is not required anymore.
Anyone know how to do that?
darkghost

Post by darkghost »

My first post on the scummvm forums here but I had some experience with this specific topic in the past.
I don't know if it's possible to create a custom boot CD with some adventures copied to it, so that the CD swapping is not required anymore.
Anyone know how to do that?
Here's how I've done it. I use a program made by the same guy that did SBI called Selfboot (available at: http://www.dchomebrew.org/zacmcd/Files/Selfboot.exe ).
The latest version of ScummVM for the Dreamcast are "plain files". So here's what you do:
1) Download the latest version in plainfiles
2) Extract to any directory (I'll use C:\ScummDC for this example)