How I made Windows ScummVM portable

Discussion about other and unofficial ports of ScummVM

Moderator: ScummVM Team

LegendforHire

How I made Windows ScummVM portable

Post by LegendforHire »

Hi all. I'm fairly new to ScummVM and I'm really getting into it.

After doing a lot of forum browsing I learned that ScummVM is, in essence, portable, but there are prohibitive factors. I wanted to get over those factors

This topic was quite informative and gave me a good place to start. I thought about posting this in that topic, but didn't think reviving such an old topic would be good form so decided to create a new one.

Here are the significant prohibitive factors referred to, preventing ScummVM from being truly portable...
  • 1. scummvm.ini is stored in the main Windows folder. If a USB stored instance of ScummVM is run on a new computer, then ScummVM will just create a new, blank .ini file in that computer's Windows folder. Previously saved settings will not be applied in this case. (This is easily overcome)
    2. All of the game paths stored in scummvm.ini are absolute and relative to the machine that applied them. So if a game is added to Computer A where the USB drive might be D:\ it might be referenced in scummvm.ini as D:\scummvm\gamefiles\fotaq\ for example. But if then, when using Computer B, which might have assigned a different drive letter (eg E:\) to the USB then scummvm will be looking in the wrong place and won't find the game. These references need to be made relative rather than absolute with minimum effort.
So here's how I solved it...

It's worth noting at this point that all my games are in a subfolder of ScummVM called \Gamefiles\ (It's important that this subfolder is uniquely named and must not have the same name as any parent folder in the path). Every game I added to ScummVM was added from this location.
Also, my Saved games are also saved in a subfolder of ScummVM called \Saved games\.