A couple of random questions

All the inane chatter goes in here. If you're curious about whether we will support a game, post HERE not in General Discussion :)

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Avatrunei

A couple of random questions

Post by Avatrunei »

I am new in ScummVM (I prefer DosBox etc) and after experimenting with several games, these questions occurred to me. I am afraid the answers will be negative but here goes :)

1. I understand that SVM uses its own save game system. This means that if you begin a game in a "clean" (Dos) or emulated environment (DosBox, WinUAE), you can't switch to SVM and resume gameplay with your previous savegames. Is there a way to make SVM read the 'official' savegame files?

2. I have no idea about game ripping, reverse engineering or game programming, however this daring idea occurred to me: I saw a package of "enhanced music" mp3s that can be read by SVM while playing a specific game, so you have a better aurial experience instead of the original MIDI music. So, how easy can it be to tweak the source code and do this for other games?

For example, the Amiga versions of the latest LucasArts adventures (MI2 and Fate of Atlantis) lack several tracks and there are whole scenes of silence or repetitive music. So, if I downloaded the soundtrack mp3s, can I make SVM read them while running the Amiga versions of those games? I am sure it's not a simple task, but where does it start from?
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer

Re: A couple of random questions

Post by eriktorbjorn »

Avatrunei wrote: 1. I understand that SVM uses its own save game system. This means that if you begin a game in a "clean" (Dos) or emulated environment (DosBox, WinUAE), you can't switch to SVM and resume gameplay with your previous savegames. Is there a way to make SVM read the 'official' savegame files?