BlackBerry PlayBook port?

Discussion about other and unofficial ports of ScummVM

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Waffles

BlackBerry PlayBook port?

Post by Waffles »

Anyone interested in this, besides me? :)

The NDK was released earlier this week, but I'm not at a level that I would be able to make any progress on my own, at least not anytime soon, and that's a big if.

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/native/

I'm an excellent artist, with a good understanding of programing in ActionScript 3, some Objective C, and also Android, and of course I know PHP, ASP, and JavaScript. But outside of using the C syntax, I've never built a project in C++, only compiled simple examples. I do have a book on C++ for dummies, but I'm only qualified for the ladder. :shock:

Anyways, I'd like to get this going, but as it looks HUGE to me, I'm not sure how I could help, let alone if anyone else besides me has a PlayBook? I have ScummVM on my Asus Transformer and Nexus One, along with a billion other devices, but I really would love to have it on the tablet I bring everywhere.

Hopefully this gets some interest. If anything, I'd love to redesign the GUI, which is one area I know in and out.
sev
ScummVM Lead

Re: BlackBerry PlayBook port?

Post by sev »

Waffles wrote: Anyways, I'd like to get this going, but as it looks HUGE to me
In fact it is not, and you will need only basic C++ understanding if you know C. I.e. you will not need to work on object model and whatnot but rather implement set of methods specified in common/system.h
Waffles wrote: Hopefully this gets some interest. If anything, I'd love to redesign the GUI, which is one area I know in and out.
GUI needs some work, yes.

Eugene
Waffles

Post by Waffles »

Thanks Eugene!

Well, I've gome some work to do to get my mind wrapped around this, so might as well spend this evening chewing on this project.

I just needs to look over how the GUI is being drawn. SO, here's hoping I can actually contribute.

Thanks,
Chris
Goonie12