ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > Android Port > [TouchMod] Touchpad like control-scheme Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
[TouchMod] Touchpad like control-scheme
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
onevision



Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Does corners work in Galaxy S 

Hello,
first of all i would like to thank das_weezul for share this work with us.

Im trying your port v0.04 in my galaxy S with froyo and im not be able to lunch the fuctions of the corners. Have anybody tried this mod in this smartphone?, or it only happens to me

thank you

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:08 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
das_weezul



Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 23
Re: Does corners work in Galaxy S 

quote:
Originally posted by onevision
Hello,
first of all i would like to thank das_weezul for share this work with us.


I'm happy that it seems to be useful for some people Very Happy

quote:
Originally posted by onevision
Im trying your port v0.04 in my galaxy S with froyo and im not be able to lunch the fuctions of the corners.


I see ... I've set the corner regions to a rather small diameter to leave enough room for the "touchpad" region (center). Just try to hit the upper left corner (in a game) until the menu shows up ... you'll get the feeling for it! In the next version I'll add a dialog which will let you tweak these settings.

Cheers,
das_weezul
 Reply with quote  
Post Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:14 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Lan



Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 57
 

Well done Smile

 Reply with quote  
Post Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:58 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
slayoer



Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 2
 

Hi =).
First of all it looks nice what you gonna do there pls keep on it!.

Now my point. I have a problem with your version Sad. I installed it on a Froyo device and added the scumm plugin. I could add monky island 1. All seams nice. But if i try to start it a error message
"
Initillizing M32 Emulator
Init Error - Missing or Invalid MT32_Control.ROM
"

comes on the loadscreen and the programm turns off. What should i do.

may its a hint that i had installed the "normal" andriod scumm vm befor (and it worked for me!)?

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:21 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 3217
 

quote:
Originally posted by slayoer

Initillizing M32 Emulator
Init Error - Missing or Invalid MT32_Control.ROM



If it's anything like the desktop version of ScummVM, I guess it could help to change the "Preferred Device" setting on the Audio tab of the options dialog.

(I don't know why it picked the MT-32 Emulator for you. I thought ScummVM had been fixed to not pick that one by default, but I haven't really checked.)
 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:47 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
slayoer



Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 2
thanks 

okay it workes now thanks!. But i don't like the new mouse behavoir but all other featurs. Can i disable the new mouse somehow?

 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:10 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Patchthehippie



Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 1
 

Firstly, thank you very much for making this. I have ScummVM running on my Nook Color, and the only thing I have missing is the ability to right click. So this is just great for me.


That being said, I do have some issues with the mod, and was wondering if an edited version could be made. I'd do it my self, but I have no clue how one would go about it. Coding is over my head.

So, firstly, I really dislike the new mouse control. I could see how it could be good on a smaller screen device, but I have a 7 inch screen, and loved the old mouse control.

Secondly, because of the new mouse control, and the fact that there is a left click button in the lower left corner, I am unable to left-click-hold and move the cursor, which is essential in Full Throttle, and a few kids games I can think of off the top of my head.

Other than that, my only tiny issue is that all the engines aren't just included in the main apk like the official beta release that I have. That would be really nice, but not needed, as I can just adb the rest onto the device easily.


So, do you think you could possibly modify this just slightly? Revert to the old mouse controls, and remove the left click option and leave that as a press and hold option like it was originally? Pretty please?

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:28 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
gia2484



Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Bass still doesn't work on froyo 

I dont know why, but in Any build (this 1.3.0svn or 1.2.0) bass keeps crashing on the intro.. I've read that it is a common problem.. Anybody is experiencing the same here?

I've tried both the floppy version and the cd version, but they both crash some seconds in the intro..


HELP!

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:02 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
das_weezul



Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 23
 

Hi Folks!

First: Thanks for your feedback! I really appreciate that, as this mod is primarily intended to make scummVM more usable and fun to play on as many android devices as possible Very Happy I'll try to compile a TODO list for me from your suggestions:

* [slayoer] I'll try to make the Adlib emulator the default, but as eriktorbjorn said, switching to Adlib fixes that issue

* [slayoer&Patchthehippie] I'll add a config screen in one of the next versions which will let you configure the input style (+ mouse behaviour)

* [Patchthehippie] I'm planning to add multitouch to allow corner clicks (mouse button emulation) + movement

* [Patchthehippie] Until I find out how to compile all the engines into one apk (Ohh I cursed so much while trying that Very Happy ) I'll have to leave it like that.

* [gia2484] Add mpeg video support

@gia2484 I'm playing BASS right now too and I've got the same problem. My solution is to press the BACK button on my device the time I see the Virgin logo ... that skips the intro but it's at least better than missing a great adventure Smile

Cheers,
das_weezul


Last edited by das_weezul on Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:58 pm; edited 1 time in total

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
gia2484



Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6
 

Thanks. Didnt think of skipping the intro! It works beautifully.

The mapping of the corners works not always on my zte blade but i love the idea.

The only thing that i still cant make work is broken sword..That was actually working on another unofficial port. Here i just see black and it seems to get stuck...

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:48 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
das_weezul



Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 23
 

quote:
Originally posted by gia2484
Thanks. Didnt think of skipping the intro! It works beautifully.


No problem Very Happy

quote:
Originally posted by gia2484
The mapping of the corners works not always on my zte blade but i love the idea.


Yea, I made the radius a bit too small (20px) ... you'll be able to configure that in a future version

quote:
Originally posted by gia2484

The only thing that i still cant make work is broken sword.


I didn't have the time yet to compile the mpeg2 libary, Sorry. I'll add that to my TODO List Very Happy
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:01 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
gia2484



Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6
 


quote:

I didn't have the time yet to compile the mpeg2 libary, Sorry. I'll add that to my TODO List Very Happy


Great! Thanks for everything!
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:15 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
md5
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 2187
Location: Athens, Greece
 

quote:
Originally posted by das_weezul
quote:
Originally posted by gia2484
Thanks. Didnt think of skipping the intro! It works beautifully.


No problem Very Happy

quote:
Originally posted by gia2484
The mapping of the corners works not always on my zte blade but i love the idea.


Yea, I made the radius a bit too small (20px) ... you'll be able to configure that in a future version

quote:
Originally posted by gia2484

The only thing that i still cant make work is broken sword.


I didn't have the time yet to compile the mpeg2 libary, Sorry. I'll add that to my TODO List Very Happy


The mpeg2 library is no longer needed. The original Smacker or converted DXA videos are now supported. The MPEG2 player is not used anywhere at the moment
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:17 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
AshEnke



Joined: 27 Oct 2010
Posts: 7
 

I like the very idea of a touchpad (in my opinion the iphone version had the best control method : you could switch anytime between touchpad mode and click mode by swyping from the bottom to the top of the screen with two fingers).

There a few issues that I'd like to report to help you do as good a job as possible.

First the areas in the corners are really, really too small, but I think you already know about that.

I also think that some controls are redundant. A short tap on the screen is left mouse click, but there's also a zone for that ? What's the point ?
The lack of click&drag is also very noticeable.

I think that the best method would be that a short tap is a left mouse click, two short taps are two left mouse clicks, one short tap followed by another one with the finger kept on the screen is a hold left mouse click (for drag and drop), and a tap in the (larger) zone on the bottom right is a right click.


Also, I think that's it's a shame that all the nice physical buttons on my Desire aren't used at all. It would be nice to bind the keyboard and menu keys on it.

Almost done : I haven't found a single Scumm build in which the volume buttons actually change the volume ! (of the Android phone, not of the emulator) Is it some kind of limitation ? Because I have to change it manually by either launching another app, or going to the settings menu directly on android !



Finally : I haven't been able to load Lands of Lore ! I installed the Kyra engine pack that was in the archive, but when I select the directory of the game I get a "No game found". I tried every single directory, without success.
I know that the port of the engine isn't finished, But I managed to at least launch the game with another build of Scumm for the Android.




By the way, nice job for making the app so small ! Those 5mo are really convenient when compared to other builds that are huge !

 Reply with quote  
Post Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:41 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
grayjo



Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 1
 

Just a thought...

If you are going to implement multi-touch, why not just have one finger is left click, two fingers as a right click?

 Reply with quote  
Post Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:47 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge