ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > Nintendo DS Port > Goblins 3 Freezes!
Goblins 3 Freezes!
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
gviperdawg99



Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Goblins 3 Freezes! 

I just got Goblins 3 to run with music after converting the .ogg file to the IMA ADPCM .wav format, and now when I run it, it freezes when I try to access the menu on the top of the screen for saving/loading and options.
Has anyone else countered this?
It says "Blue screen of death data abort!"

I have only noticed it once I got the .wav file to work for the music.

My settings are:
GFX- all default
Audio- Adlib, default, 22 khz

I am running this on Acekard2i on DSi, DLDI Acekard AK2 and have tried both v1.0.0 and v1.1.0

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:21 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Graxer



Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 383
Location: Scotland
 

I seem to remember that I had problems running Goblins 3 on my DS too. (I also had problems with Gobliins 2)

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:05 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Red_Breast



Joined: 30 Sep 2008
Posts: 785
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.
 

Maybe try converting straight from the uncompressed wav that you rip from the disc.
DS ScummVM can't play the big audio file on the CD version of Inherit the Earth. It has no problems with the floppy apparently or the CD version if you just leave the audio file out.
There are no notes about CD versions of Gobli(i)(i)ns games but I imagine it could be the same. The floppy would be better - and you get that great midi as well!

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Jul 04, 2010 11:42 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
gviperdawg99



Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 5
 

I used the CD and followed the exact instructions from the scummvm DS website about how to rip CD audio suing CDex and still get this problem. I wonder if I have a wrong verion of Goblins 3?

 Reply with quote  
Post Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:46 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
agentq
ScummVM Porter


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 806
Location: London, UK
 

I'm sorry, I don't have Goblins 3 CD so you'ree probably trying something that hasn't been tested before. I assume the music plays ok before the crash? If not, I would suspect something has gone wrong with the music conversion.

If you press Y during the game, are any error messages reported on the console?

 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:43 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
gviperdawg99



Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 5
 

Agentq- Yes the music and everything works perfectly until I move the cursor to bring up the menu on the top of the screen. After pushing Y to display debug it says "Blue screen of death data abort!" then:
pc: 000000f4 addr:000000f4


r0:00000000 r8:00000000
r1:00000000 r9:00000000
r2:0220b759 r10:00000000

all the way down to

sp:0affffdc
lr:00000000
pc:000000fc

and more numbers after that

Not sure if this helps...

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Jul 11, 2010 5:31 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
gviperdawg99



Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 5
 

Here is a picture

http://www2.picturepush.com/photo/a/3781365/640/3781365.jpg

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
agentq
ScummVM Porter


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 806
Location: London, UK
 

Hmm. Well, it's difficult for me to offer any advice on this withough investigating it myself, but it sounds like a genuine bug in ScummVM. I will have to investigate this in due course.

Unfortunately I don't have the game you mention so I can't really look into it right now. For now, you should probably play without music. But then you already knew that. Wink

Sorry I can't be of more help.

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:52 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
sev
ScummVM Lead


Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 1925
 

quote:
Originally posted by gviperdawg99
Agentq- Yes the music and everything works perfectly until I move the cursor to bring up the menu on the top of the screen. After pushing Y to display debug it says "Blue screen of death data abort!"

Does anything bad happens when you try it with desktop version of ScummVM?


Eugene
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:09 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 



Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge