ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > Help and Support > Last Crusade (Amiga version): Corrupt IQ points counter! Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Last Crusade (Amiga version): Corrupt IQ points counter!
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
adalsgaard



Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Last Crusade (Amiga version): Corrupt IQ points counter! 

I'm replaying Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade through WinUAE (Amiga simulator).

I've discovered that the IQ points counter is corrupt regarding points awarded for solving 2 puzzles:

1. error: The game gives you 15 IQ points for fighting (and beating) the guard in the alarm room (Castle Brunwald) but doesn't consider the puzzle solved any different than giving the guard Mein Kampf. Meaning: If you gave already solved the puzzle by giving the guard Mein Kampf, nothing will happen to your IQ series score fighting the guard (it's supposed to be worth 10 (unique) IQ points).

2. error: When escaping Castle Brunwald, the game gives you 25 IQ points for the escape, REGARDLESS of the circumstances (you're only supposed to get 25 IQ points for escaping if you escape the castle without getting tied up).

The first error makes it impossible to get the maximum series score (800 IQ points).

Now... I've tested this in SEVERAL versions of the game and the conclusion is that ALL Amiga versions have this bug. So far, nobody proved me wrong.

I'm in search of someone who knows
1) is the IQ points counter "fixable"?
2) (if fixable) how to actually correct the errors?

Best regards,
a VERY persistent Last Crusade fan.

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:18 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 3284
Re: Last Crusade (Amiga version): Corrupt IQ points counter! 

So you're saying the bug happens both in ScummVM and with WinUAE, but not in the DOS version?

I guess someone who has both versions could sit down and try to figure out which scripts are responsible, and how they differ.

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:52 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
adalsgaard



Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
 

I've now tested the game playing it through ScummVM and the error is still there.

What do you mean by "the DOS version"? I only played it through WinUAE (and now ScummVM). The IQ points counter is corrupt in both environments.

Like you stated: Someone should locate the bug and correct it. Sadly, I have absolutely no skills in this area.

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:27 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 3284
 

quote:
Originally posted by adalsgaard
I've now tested the game playing it through ScummVM and the error is still there.


That's good, in a way. I wanted to make sure that it was a bug in the original game, not a bug in ScummVM itself.

quote:
Originally posted by adalsgaard

What do you mean by "the DOS version"? I only played it through WinUAE (and now ScummVM). The IQ points counter is corrupt in both environments.



I meant the DOS version of the game. If it works in the DOS version of the game, but not in the Amiga version, that might simplify things. (If it works the same in the DOS and Amiga version, it would be tempting to call it a feature. Smile
 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:32 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
adalsgaard



Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
 

So if I understand you correctly, by DOS version you mean PC DOS?

I've played the PC DOS version and it is without the mentioned errors.

I suppose the errors have happened producing the Amiga version of the game.

How can those errors be fixed?

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:58 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 3284
 

quote:
Originally posted by adalsgaard
So if I understand you correctly, by DOS version you mean PC DOS?

I've played the PC DOS version and it is without the mentioned errors.


Yes, that's what I meant.

quote:
Originally posted by adalsgaard

I suppose the errors have happened producing the Amiga version of the game.

How can those errors be fixed?


I don't know. I don't have the Amiga version, and even if I did, tracking down script bugs can be a tedious process. If a script bug is found, it may be possible to detect when that part of the script is run and then to do something about it. That in itself can be tricky, so many of the workarounds in ScummVM are for potentially game-breaking bugs. For instance, if a certain action causes the game to hang or become unsolvable for no (to the player) apparent reason.
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:22 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
adalsgaard



Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
 

What tools are needed in order to start this tedious process?

I suppose the room files (.lfl) are the ones to be corrected?

Again; if someone has experience with fixing bugs, I'll gladly provide the disks.

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:27 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Raziel
ScummVM Porter


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 882
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
 

The problem is, as eriktorbjorn tried to point out, that this behaviour of
your game version doesn't break, halt, stop or crash anything.

eriktorbjorn is one of those magicians who knows how to fix these kind
of bugs, but as such, he also knows what a PITA it can be to do so.

End of Story: Your "bug" is not worth fixing given the sweat and tears
involved (at least not now)

 Reply with quote  
Post Fri Oct 02, 2009 4:54 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 3284
 

quote:
Originally posted by Raziel

eriktorbjorn is one of those magicians who knows how to fix these kind of bugs



Sometimes. Other times, I've had to ask for help, or decided that it's not worth it. (This one may be a bit trickier than the ones I've looked at, since one of the issues described depends on things that happened earlier in the game.)
 Reply with quote  
Post Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:22 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
icanntspell



Joined: 18 May 2009
Posts: 89
Location: The Netherlands
 

I would set a breakpoint on the IQ value, restore a savegame before the incorrect points were assigned. Let the bug occur and determine the offending script. Decompile that script and try to find out the cause (perhaps compare it with the PC version).

If I can help, please let me know. Sounds like a challenge to fix this bug.

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Oct 04, 2009 12:32 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JohnnyWalker2001



Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 76
Location: London, UK
 

You should do it!

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:18 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
adalsgaard



Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
 

Raziel:
Whether something is worth fixing or not is a matter of opinion.

No one has ever completed Last Crusade 100% because of these errors (Amiga version). If that is not worth fixing, then what is?

icanntspell:
Please check your PM's.

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:37 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer


Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 3284
 

quote:
Originally posted by adalsgaard

No one has ever completed Last Crusade 100% because of these errors (Amiga version). If that is not worth fixing, then what is?


Well, it's not worth it to me personally because it's a version I don't have, of a game I don't particularly like. Wink

But if you submit a patch, I'm sure it will be seriously considered.
 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Oct 06, 2009 4:04 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Raziel
ScummVM Porter


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 882
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
 

quote:
Originally posted by adalsgaard
Raziel:
Whether something is worth fixing or not is a matter of opinion.


Sure it is.
I myself have repeatedly reported glitches i like to be taken care of.
Sometimes they are squashed in an hour, sometimes they need months to go away and in very few case they still stand.

You can't rush things unless you sit down yourself and do the work


quote:

No one has ever completed Last Crusade 100% because of these errors (Amiga version). If that is not worth fixing, then what is?


Fixing a bug that actually makes a game not completeable?
 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:10 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
adalsgaard



Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
 

[/quote]
Fixing a bug that actually makes a game not completeable?[/quote]

I think we have different views of the concept "completable". In my book, Last Crusade is not "completable". You would probably say it's just not "complete". Being VERY thorough, it's the same deal to me.

 Reply with quote  
Post Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:58 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next


Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge