Trouble setting up SDL

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's PocketPC/HandheldPC port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
saratoga
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:48 pm

Trouble setting up SDL

Post by saratoga »

I'm interested in doing some WinCe development, but I'm having some trouble setting up everything. I've got cegcc installed and it compiles the hello world program nicely, which runs great in the MS WinCE5 emulator.

Next I downloaded the binary SDL lib and header and tried linking against them with a simple sdl program I found on google to make sure they were working with my cegcc:

Code: Select all

#include "stdlib.h"
#include "SDL.h"

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
	SDL_Surface *screen;	//This pointer will reference the backbuffer
	SDL_Surface *image;	//This pointer will reference our bitmap sprite
	SDL_Surface *temp;	//This pointer will temporarily reference our bitmap sprite
	SDL_Rect src, dest;	//These rectangles will describe the source and destination regions of our blit

	//We must first initialize the SDL video component, and check for success
	if (SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO) != 0) {
		printf("Unable to initialize SDL: %s\n", SDL_GetError());
		return 1;
	}

	//When this program exits, SDL_Quit must be called
	atexit(SDL_Quit);

	//Set the video mode to fullscreen 640x480 with 16bit colour and double-buffering
	screen = SDL_SetVideoMode(160, 120, 16, SDL_DOUBLEBUF | SDL_FULLSCREEN);
	if (screen == NULL) {
		printf("Unable to set video mode: %s\n", SDL_GetError());
		return 1;
	}

	//Load the bitmap into a temporary surface, and check for success
	temp = SDL_LoadBMP("image.bmp");
	if (temp == NULL) {
		printf("Unable to load bitmap: %s\n", SDL_GetError());
		return 1;
	}

	//Convert the surface to the appropriate display format
	image = SDL_DisplayFormat(temp);

	//Release the temporary surface
	SDL_FreeSurface(temp);

	//Construct the source rectangle for our blit
	src.x = 0;
	src.y = 0;
	src.w = image->w;	//Use image->w to display the entire width of the image
	src.h = image->h;	//Use image->h to display the entire height of the image

	//Construct the destination rectangle for our blit
	dest.x = 100;		//Display the image at the (X,Y) coordinates (100,100)
	dest.y = 100;
	dest.w = image->w;	//Ensure the destination is large enough for the image's entire width/height
	dest.h = image->h;

	//Blit the image to the backbuffer
	SDL_BlitSurface(image, &src, screen, &dest);

	//Flip the backbuffer to the primary
	SDL_Flip(screen);

	//Wait for 2500ms (2.5 seconds) so we can see the image
	SDL_Delay(5000);

	//Release the surface
	SDL_FreeSurface(image);

	//Return success!
	return 0;
}

Code: Select all

mike@biosgroup-desktop:~/sdl/test$ arm-mingw32ce-gcc SDL_DisplayBitmap.c -I../include/sdl -L../lib -lSDL
mike@biosgroup-desktop:~/sdl/test$ 
This compiles without incident, but when I run it, the screen blinks black and then returns to the file browser again without showing the image. I'm not sure if this is a problem with my SDL, or with the code I'm running. Could someone with SDL/wince experience help me out here? I have a lot of ARM development experience, but WinCE and SDL are new to me so I'm feeling a bit lost.[/code]
Lostech
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 8:42 am
Contact:

Post by Lostech »

Try the libraries from Knakos. They compile fine with cegcc and do work without problems.
Additional compiling infos can be found in the Wiki.
User avatar
joostp
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:55 pm

Post by joostp »

I would try changing those printf()s to fprintf()s and see if it errors out on any of those cases (unless you can already somehow catch these printfs, of course).

I wouldn't be surprised if it couldn't set the 160x120 video mode...
saratoga
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:48 pm

Post by saratoga »

Lostech wrote:Try the libraries from Knakos. They compile fine with cegcc and do work without problems.
Additional compiling infos can be found in the Wiki.
Thats what I'm using, I should have been more clear.
I wouldn't be surprised if it couldn't set the 160x120 video mode...
Oh wow didn't even think about that. I'll try fixing those printfs (they don't work as is) and see what happens.
Post Reply